Minnesota Trucking Association

The Minnesota Trucking Association honored Michael Matheson, a professional truck driver for Manning Transfer, as the 2016 Minnesota Driver of the Year at its banquet in January.

Matheson, driving a truck for 40 years, has logged more than 4 million safe miles. Manning Transfer presented an award to him in 2015 for 10-plus years of accident-free driving.

“This award is a great way to honor the best in our industry. Driving safe is no easy task, especially when you take into consideration his daily driving conditions like congestion, driver distractions and Minnesota winters. Having more than 4 million safe-driving miles is an accomplishment that few truck drivers are able to reach, and we’re proud to award Michael for this outstanding achievement,” MTA President John Hausladen said.

“Mike has been a leader here at Manning when it comes to safety,” said Brian Merriam, safety director for Manning Transfer. “He has never had a violation on the roadside or been in an accident. He is conscientious of the safety of the equipment he is driving and always reports any concerns with trailers. Furthermore, when he purchased a new truck in 2014, he paid a considerable amount more for additional safety features, such as disc brakes on all axles.”

Asked why he enjoys trucking, Matheson said, “I love that I’m able to travel to all parts of the lower 48 states and meet all kinds of people.” When he’s not hauling cabinetry throughout the northeastern United States, he enjoys spending time with his family and working on his collection of John Deere tractors.

Throughout 2016, exceptional drivers are nominated by their companies, and one driver is chosen each month as the Driver of the Month. The drivers who are chosen are required to meet high standards, including an outstanding driving and work record; contribution to industry and highway safety; and involvement in the community.

MTA hosts an awards banquet in January, and one of the 12 monthly nominees is selected as Driver of the Year by a panel of judges including Dan Drexler, division administrator for Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, and Capt. Jon Olsen of Minnesota State Patrol.

Staff Reports
Fergus (Minn.) Falls Daily Journal


Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

© 2017, Transport Topics, American Trucking Associations Inc.
Reproduction, redistribution, display or rebroadcast by any means without written permission is prohibited.